Farenthold wins GOP nomination for Congress District 27

Jennifer Lee Preyss By Jennifer Lee Preyss

May 29, 2012 at 12:29 a.m.
Updated May 30, 2012 at 12:30 a.m.

Blake Farenthold beat three challengers to gain the Republican nomination for U.S. House of Representatives District 27.

On the Democratic side Jerry J. Trevino and Rose Harrison will be in a runoff election on July 31.

District 27 was created in the recent redistricting. It includes Jackson, Calhoun, Victoria, Refugio, Wharton, Lavaca, Matagorda, Nueces, San Patricio, Aransas, and parts of Gonzales, Bastrop and Caldwell Counties.

"I'm really excited for two reasons - one, I've done real well in new areas, especially Victoria . and the folks who know me the best in Nueces County had a great turnout," Farenthold said about his district win. "But this is going to be a landmark election. The Republicans want to go one way and the Democrats want to go in another direction."

Partial results were reported at 11:30 p.m.

Republican vote totals are Trey Roberts, 4,166; Don Al Middlebrook, 3,464; John Grunwold, 2,772; and Farenthold with 27,196.

Democratic vote totals are Jerry J. Trevino, 8,008; Murphy Alade Junaid, 411; Ronnie C. McDonald, 5,184; and Rose Meza Harrison, 6,493.

In the U.S. District 34 race, Jessica Puente Bradshaw will face Adela Garza in a runoff election for the Republican nomination. On the Democratic side, a runoff election will be between Filemon Vela and Denise Blanchard.

Republican candidates and their vote totals are Bradshaw, 3,786; Adela Garza, 3,662; and Paul B. Haring, 3,043.

Democratic Party candidates and their vote totals are Anthony Troiani, 3,514; Salomon Torres, 4,076; Armando Villalobos, 3,611; Denise Saenz Blanchard, 5,219; Juan Angel Guerra, 1,925; Elmo M. Aycock, 819; Ramiro Garza Jr., 5,128; and Vela, 16,955.



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia