Morrison re-elected to state House 30; Stephenson wins House 85

Sonny Long

Nov. 6, 2012 at 5:06 a.m.
Updated Nov. 7, 2012 at 5:07 a.m.

Geanie Morrison was re-elected to her seventh term in the Texas House of Representatives.

Morrison, the Republican incumbent in District 30, defeated Democratic challenger Alex Hernandez Jr., a Victoria attorney.

"I am humbled by the outcome of the vote and the fact that the voters are pleased with my record in the House," Morrison said. "I look forward to working with my constituents who are new to the district as well as the ones who remained in the district.

"I am thrilled to be returning to the Legislature. It will be exciting."

Hernandez said his first run for public office was an educational experience.

"I faced an uphill battle from the beginning," he said, noting that District 30 is traditionally 70 percent Republican. "I had hoped people would look at my qualifications and background.

"I gave voters a choice when no one else was going to challenge her."

When redistricting initially changed the makeup of District 30, Morrison announced she would not seek re-election.

When court ordered changes kept much of District 30 intact, Morrison re-entered the race.

Both candidates were unopposed in the primary races.

District 30 includes Victoria, DeWitt, Goliad, Refugio, Calhoun and Aransas counties.

In House District 85, Republican Phil Stephenson, a Wharton accountant defeated Democrat Dora Olivo.

"I am humbled and honored to receive the support of the voters of District 85," Stephenson said. "I believe they share my beliefs of limited government, of lower tax and family values.

"I have listened to the voters and I will now carry their message to Austin."

Olivo, a former representative from District 27, was previously in the House from 1997-2010.

House District 85 includes southwestern Fort Bend County and all of Wharton and Jackson counties.



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia