DeWitt groundwater district to hold November election

Aug. 13, 2013 at 3:13 a.m.

CUERO - Three seats on the Pecan Valley Groundwater Conservation District board of directors will be on the ballot in November.

One at-large seat as well as the commissioners for precincts 2 and 4 positions are up for election to four-year terms.

The incumbents are Darnell Knippa in Precinct 2, Marvin Sager in Precinct 4 and Clem Waskow in the at-large seat.

Qualified candidates for the precinct positions must be 19, a registered voter and live in that precinct.

The at-large candidate must live in DeWitt County.

The filing deadline is Monday at the district office, 107 N. Gonzales St. in Cuero.

For more information, call 361-275-8188.

The Texas Legislature passed Senate Bill 1876 this past session that changed the district's election date - effective immediately following passage - from May in odd-numbered years to the uniform election date in November in even-numbered years.

State Sen. Glenn Hegar authored the bill, sponsored by State Rep. Geanie Morrison.

The governor signed the bill June 14.



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia