George Washington Carver School holds reunion

Aug. 23, 2013 at 3:23 a.m.

The George Washington Carver alumni, friends and family attended their reunion July 12-14. The reunion theme was "Standing Together to Keep the Legacy Alive." The three days included a Friday evening record hop, Saturday banquet and dance and a Sunday church service at the Jackson County Service Building in Edna. The reunion was a time of reflections for students who attended the school from 1882-1966. During these years, teachers and administrators consistently conveyed to students the importance of self esteem, academic encouragement and moral expectations of good citizenship. During the celebrations, former students shared their accomplishments and involvements in their local communities based on the concepts of service to humanity theory they learned at GWC.

The toast mistress for the Saturday banquet was Norma Brooks Renfro. One community outreach of the Alumni Association is to raise funds for scholarships. During the banquet, five prior scholarship recipients provided comments regarding their college leadership activities and current career successes. The prior recipients were Toni Callis Acosta, Desmond Earls, Brittany Butler, Xavier Callis and Sherra Jones. They expressed their gratitude for the scholarship, support and prayers from the GWC community. The highlight of the banquet was the presentation of seven $500 memorial scholarships to the following high school graduates: Leo Butler Jr., DeRodrick Jones, Christopher Edwards, JaNessia Prince, Trey Ware, Jadlyn Simone Callis and Johnie Lee Scott.

The Sunday worship leader was Wayne Callis, and music selections were provided by Wendell Washington. During the service, a memorial candle lighting moment was provided by Helen Brooks Jeffery, and the sermon was delivered by Pastor Hayward Robinson. The officers for the reunion planning committee are Matthew Gaskin, chairman; Wayne Callis, co-chairman; Mary Jones, secretary; Audrey Tones, treasurer; Shirley Gail Cook, hospitality; and Andrea Lords, decorator. The success of the reunion is the result of dedicated officers, committee members, alumni and community support and scholarship donations.

The reunion will be held again in June 2015, and we are dedicated to keeping the legacy alive for future generations. Contact Matthew Gaskin at 361-572-8740 regarding contributions for future scholarships.



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia