Refugio, Shiner ranked in 2013 Texas Football polls

Feb. 1, 2013 at 11:01 p.m.
Updated Jan. 31, 2013 at 8:01 p.m.

East Bernard defeated Refugio in the Class 2A, Division II quarterfinals and went on to win the state championship.

The Brahmas and Bobcats could be headed for a rematch, according to the winter edition of Dave Campbell's Texas Football Magazine.

Refugio is ranked No. 1 and East Bernard is No. 3 for next season by the magazine.

Cisco, the team Refugio defeated in the 2011 state final, is ranked No. 2 in the Division II poll.

"I am shocked," said Refugio coach Jason Herring, whose team returns three starters on offense and four on defense, including quarterback Travis Quintanilla. "I think by the time all is said and done and we whip those young ones into shape, we'll be all right."

Shiner, which advanced to the Class 1A, Division I semifinals before losing to Mart, is ranked No. 2 heading into next season. Mart holds the top spot in the poll.

"We lost a lot of good ones and they're going to put us No. 2," said Shiner coach Steven Cerny, whose team returns six starters on offense and five on defense. "I will say this is the hardest-working group in the weight room I've ever had. Maybe we can make up in work ethic what we lost in skill."

Refugio senior John Wesley Shipp was a first-team selection on the All-Texas high school team on the offensive line.

El Campo seniors Cole Hunt and Trey Martin were named to the second team. Hunt was selected on the defensive line and Martin was picked on the offensive line.

Hunt was also named the Class 3A, Region IV and District 25-3A Player of the Year.

Hunt, who has committed to Rice, was chosen among the state's top 10 recruits at tight end.

Shiner St. Paul running back Adam Hollenbach was named the TAPPS Division III Player of the Year.

Refugio finished No. 2 behind East Bernard in the magazine's final 2012 Class 2A, Division II poll.

Shiner was ranked No. 3 in the final Class 1A, Division I poll.

El Campo, which advanced to the Class 3A, Division I state final, was ranked No. 5 in the magazine's poll.

Hallettsville, which advanced to the Class 2A, Division I quarterfinals, was ranked No. 6.

Hallettsville's Teidrick Smith (14-2A, Division I), Refugio's Quintanilla (16-2A, Division II), Weimar's JaKyle Harris (13-1A, Division I) and Shiner's Evel Jones (15-1A, Division I) were named their respective district's Player of the Year.

Quintanilla led Class 2A in passing yards and Refugio teammate Marcus Thompson was fourth in receiving yards.

Gonzales' Cecil Johnson was third in rushing yards in Class 3A.



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia