Ricebird trio named first-team all-state

Feb. 20, 2013 at 7:02 p.m.
Updated Feb. 19, 2013 at 8:20 p.m.

Cole Hunt, Trey Martin and Brett Prihoda played a key role in El Campo’s first state final appearance since 1967.

The three seniors will continue playing on the college level next season.

Hunt and Martin will play at Rice and Prihoda will play at Mary Hardin-Baylor.

The trio will do so as first-team selections on the 62nd Annual Collin Street Bakery/Texas Sports Writers Association All-State team.

Hunt was chosen as the co-Defensive Player of the Year after being picked on the defensive line.

Hunt had 117 tackles, including 17 sacks.

Martin was chosen at offensive tackle where he had 81 pancake blocks and did not allow a sack all season.

Prihoda was selected at linebacker. He led the Ricebirds with 170 tackles, including seven sacks, had one interception, caused two fumbles and recovered one.

“All of these guys deserve every honor they get,” said El Campo coach Bob Gillis. “They worked very hard, were good leaders and were a big part of our success.”

Gonzales senior running back Cecil Johnson was named to the second team.

Cuero’s Caleb Harvey earned honorable mention at tackle and on the defensive line, and Yoakum’s Keith Ratley received honorable mention at wide receiver and defensive back.

Also earning honorable mention were Yoakum offensive tackle Willie Hights and defensive lineman Rico Perry, Gonzales linebacker JT Miller and defensive back Zack Lopez, and Wharton linebacker Ramon Frazier and defensive back Alfred Pinkney.

Quarterbacks Kadarius Baker of Navasota and Tyler Jones of Stephenville were named co-Offensive Players of the Year. Jones was selected to the first team as an athlete.

Navasota lineman Jordan Wells shared Defensive Players of the Year honors with El Campo’s Hunt.

Lee Fedora, who led Navasota to the Division II state championship, was named Coach of the Year.

Following are area selections on the 62nd Annual Collin Street Bakery/Texas Sports Writers Association Class 3A All-State football team.

Co-Defensive Player of the Year: Cole Hunt, sr., El Campo.

First Team

Offensive Tackle: Trey Martin, sr., El Campo.

Defensive Line: Cole Hunt, sr., El Campo.

Linebacker: Brett Prihoda, sr., El Campo.

Second Team

Running Back: Cecil Johnson, sr., Gonzales.

Honorable Mention

Offensive Tackle: Caleb Harvey, Cuero; Willie Hights, Yoakum.

Wide Receiver: Keith Ratley, Yoakum.

Defensive Line: Caleb Harvey, Cuero; Rico Perry, Yoakum.

Linebacker: Ramon Frazier, Wharton; JT Miller, Gonzales.

Defensive Back: Zack Lopez, Gonzales; Alfred Pinkney, Wharton; Keith Ratley, Yoakum.



Powered By AdvocateDigitalMedia