Victoria East's Dean selected as District 30-4A MVP

Feb. 26, 2013 at 9 p.m.
Updated Feb. 25, 2013 at 8:26 p.m.

Ramaya Dean filled a number of roles for Victoria East this season.

She played the post, on the wing, and occasionally was at the point for the Lady Titans.

Dean averaged a team-leading 12.1 points, 9.2 rebounds, 1.2 blocks and 4.5 steals per game, while leading East to its second straight District 30-4A championship.

Dean completed her senior year as the Most Valuable Player of the All-District 30-4A girls basketball team selected by the district coaches.

Yulonda Wimbish-North, who has led East to three consecutive playoff berths, was named the coach of the year.

Gregory-Portland senior Sarah Wisor was named the district's Defensive MVP, and Tuloso-Midway sophomore Lexi Ruiz was selected as the Newcomer of the Year.

East seniors Sonya Acuna, Kamri Hardeman, and Bre Williams, and junior Kendall Carter were first-team selections.

The first team also included Beeville senior Victoria Elizalde, Tuloso-Midway senior Leah Alley and junior Cami Horman, Calallen senior Jackie Treat and Gregory-Portland junior Kelsey Fishbeck.

East senior Cassie Pustejovsky, and Victoria West junior Allyson Dlouhy and sophomore Mercedes Ellison were selected to the second team.

The second team also included Calhoun junior Jordan Edison and sophomore Mckenna Villegas, Beeville senior Tori Munoz and sophomore Ciara Garcia, Calallen senior Kristine Cramer, and Tuloso-Midway senior Deserae Iglesias.

Earning honorable mention were Jada Whitby from Victoria East, Lauren Rodriguez from Victoria West, Bryanna Delgado, Brenda Cardona and Tori Trejo from Calhoun, and Theresa Amador, Brennan Holder and Paige McKinney from Beeville.

All-District 30-4A

Most Valuable Player: Ramaya Dean, sr., Victoria East

Defensive MVP: Sarah Wisor, sr., Gregory-Portland

Newcomer of the Year: Lexi Ruiz, so., Tuloso-Midway

Coach of the Year: Yulonda Wimbish-North, Victoria East

First Team

Victoria Elizalde, sr., Beeville; Sonya Acuna, sr., Victoria East; Cami Horman, jr., Tuloso-Midway; Kelsey Fishbeck, jr., Gregory-Portland; Leah Alley, sr., Tuloso-Midway; Kamri Hardeman, sr., Victoria East; Bre Williams, sr., Victoria East; Kendall Carter, jr., Victoria East; Jackie Treat, sr., Calallen.

Second Team

Ciara Garcia, so., Beeville; Mckenna Villegas, so., Calhoun; Mercedes Ellison, so., Victoria West; Kristine Cramer, sr., Callallen; Deserae Iglesias, sr., Tuloso-Midway; Jordan Edison, jr., Calhoun; Tori Munoz, sr., Beeville; Cassie Pustejosvsky, sr., Victoria East; Allyson Dlouhy, jr., Victoria West.

Honorable Mention

Victoria East: Jada Whitby.

Victoria West: Lauren Rodriguez.

Calhoun: Bryanna Delgado, Brenda Cardona, Tori Trejo.

Beeville: Theresa Amador, Brennan Holder, Paige McKinney.



Powered By AdvocateDigitalMedia