Czech Heritage Society awards scholarships

July 12, 2013 at 2:12 a.m.

The Victoria County Czech Heritage Society had its quarterly/anniversary meeting June 27 at Holy Family's St. Peter's Parish Hall. The evening began with a social followed by a meal of catered chicken breast with sides and dessert provided by members.

Ed Nevlud introduced the guest speaker, Dorothy Bujnoch, of Hallettsville. Mrs. Bujnoch gave a talk about her journey to compile the Bujnoch family history and had a family tree on display as well. President Stephanie Higdon presented Bujnoch with one of our cookbooks and an arrangement of fresh flowers.

Higdon reported that the current membership stands at 120 adults and two youth. Also introduced was new member Leslie Janssen. Sunshine committee chairwoman Dorris Raska reported that she sent a get-well card to Shelton Dieringer, and then later, a sympathy card to Dieringer's family. A get-well card was also sent to Mary Wagner. It was then brought up that two of our past members recently passed away - Alvin Schindler and Dieringer. Marjorie Matula made a motion that we give a $50 memorial for each to the Belfry fund at the Cultural Center in La Grange in memory of the two deceased members. Patricia Kovar seconded, and the motion passed.

Malvina Slovak and Marjorie Kucera were then introduced as the scholarship committee members. Slovak announced the two scholarship winners as Kristen Jurica, daughter of Gerald and Jean Jurica and granddaughter of Joe and Geraldine Jurica, and Tyler Hessler, son of Gary and Kim Hessler and grandson of August and Margie Kucera. The scholarship was presented to Kristen. Tyler was out of state participating in a contest but sent a thank-you note that was read aloud. Pictures of the recipient were taken.

Donald Dusek, festival chairman, reminded the members of items for annual Czech Heritage Festival on Sept. 22 at the Community Center. Geraldine and James Venglar were thanked for the handling of the food and drink preparations, and Joe Pustka and Donald Dusek were thanked for setting up the hall. Monsignor Joseph Hybner led the closing prayer, and the meeting was adjourned.



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia