Six Victoria East players named first-team all-district

May 25, 2013 at 12:25 a.m.

Victoria East had six players named to the All-District 30-4A baseball team selected by the coaches.

East senior second baseman Kyle Davidson was a unanimous selection.

East senior Hunter Perkins and junior Ryan Williams were picked at pitcher, senior Aaron Prado was chosen at catcher, sophomore Jonathan Ortega was selected at shortstop and senior Trey Thormahlen was picked at designated hitter.

Gregory-Portland senior Travis Geiser was named the district's MVP, Calallen sophomore Dylan Duarte was chosen as the Newcomer of the Year.

Calallen's Steve Chapman, who led the Wildcats to the district championship, was named Coach of the Year.

Calhoun senior pitcher Zach Cruz, and Beeville senior third baseman Clay Blackwell were also first-team selections.

East junior third baseman Cole Urban was named to the second team.

Victoria West pitchers Jonathan Jimenez, a freshman, and Cory Willemin, a senior, were picked for the second team along with junior first baseman Jack Riggs and sophomore outfielder Shane Kallman.

Calhoun junior Colton Kveton was named to the second team in the outfield, and Tristan Henderson was picked at shortstop.

Beeville sophomore Cameron Kremers was a second-team selection in the outfield.

All-District 30-4A

Following is the All-District 30-4A baseball team selected by the coaches. *Denotes unanimous selection.


MVP: Travis Geiser, sr., Gregory-Portland

Newcomer of the Year: Dylan Duarte, so., Calallen

Coach of the Year: Steve Chapman, Calallen

First Team

Pitcher: Lee May Gonzalez*, sr., Calallen; Mason Hellums, so., Tuloso-Midway; Zach Cruz, sr., Calhoun; Ryan Williams, jr., Victoria East; Hunter Perkins, sr., East.

Catcher: Aaron Prado, sr., East.

First Base: Derrick Scheible, jr., Calallen.

Second Base: Kyle Davidson*, sr., East.

Third Base: Clay Blackwell, sr., Beeville.

Shortstop: Jonathan Ortega, so., East.

Outfield: Pablo Garza, sr., G-P; Jeremy Brittain, sr., T-M; Mikey Leal, jr., Calallen; Preston Dorsey, sr., Calallen.

Designated Hitter: Nathan Freitag, so., T-M; Trey Thormahlen, sr., East.

Utility: Christian Cantu, sr., Calallen.

Second Team

Pitcher: Tristan Busse, so., G-P; Ryan Villalon, sr., T-M; Jonathan Jimenez, fr., Victoria West; Cory Willemin, sr., West.

Catcher: Jake Baca, sr., Calallen.

First Base: Jack Riggs, jr., West.

Second Base: Carlos Flores, sr., G-P.

Third Base: Cole Urban, jr., East.

Shortstop: Tristan Henderson, so., Calhoun.

Outfield: Caleb Rozypal, so., T-M; Cameron Kremers, so., Beeville; Chase Whetsel, so., Calallen; Shane Kallman, so., West; Colton Kveton, jr., Calhoun.

Honorable Mention

Victoria East: Kyle Craft, Tim Gleinser, Adrian Gonzalez, Jacob Rosales, Cameron Williams.

Victoria West: Koby Bynum, Garrett Rother, Garrett Harrison.



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia