DeWitt incumbents file for re-election

Nov. 26, 2013 at 5:26 a.m.

DeWitt County officeholders in eight positions have filed for re-election in their party primaries in March 2014.

In the Republican Party, Daryl Fowler has filed to run again for county judge.

Fowler, 57, of Yoakum, was first elected in 2009.

Tabeth Gardner, 47, of Cuero, has filed for re-election as district clerk, a position she has held since 1992.

DeWitt County Clerk Natalie Carson, 47, of Cuero, has also filed for re-election to a second term.

Carol Martin, 54, of Cuero, was appointed to the position of county treasurer in 2012 and is seeking the Republican nomination to return to that office.

Prior to her appointment, Martin worked in the county judge's office for 23 years.

Also filing for re-election was Precinct 2 Commissioner James Pilchiek, 56, of Yoakum. He is seeking a second term.

Peggy Mayer, 56, of Cuero, the incumbent justice of the peace in Precinct 1, has also filed for the Republican nomination to return to that office. She has been JP since December 2002.

In the only contested race so far in the Republican primary, incumbent Precinct 2 Justice of the Peace Bill Robinson, 70, of Yorktown, is being challenged by Brian Carson, 50, of Cuero.

Robinson was first elected JP in 1995.

Carson is a crew foreman with Guadalupe Valley Electric Cooperative and has been a certified peace officer for 20 years.

In the Democratic Party, incumbent County Commissioner Donald Kuecker, 53, of Cuero, has filed for re-election.

Filing deadline is Dec. 9.



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia