UHV golfer wins AII women's conference title

April 29, 2014 at 8 p.m.
Updated April 28, 2014 at 11:29 p.m.

BREMERTON, Wash. - Sunday's opening round of the Association of Independent Institutions conference women's golf championships ended in a four-way tie for the individual lead.

Monday's final round ended with just one name atop the leaderboard: UHV's Heather Shake.

Shake became the first UHV golfer to win a women's conference title after posting a round of 74 to finish at 7-over 149. University of British Columbia's Casara Hong and Cal State San Marcos' Christina Trujillo finished tied for second place with two-day scores of 151.

Shake's strong performance wasn't enough to lift the Jaguars to a team title, though. UHV finished fourth overall with a 652 (333, 319) team total. British Columbia finished first for the fourth-straight time, posting a 610 team total.

Becky Benchot shot a 164 (85, 79) for UHV and was followed by Brooke Brasseaux with a 167 (88, 79), Haley Harris with a 175 (85, 90) and Caitlin Swisher with a 177 (90, 81).

UHV men take fourth

The UHV men's golf team failed to gain any ground on the competition, shooting a three-day score of 906 that was 18 shots behind the AII conference champion British Columbia.

Nick Ver Elst led the way for the Jaguars with a 225 (73, 78, 74). Steve Jones was one stroke back with scores of 74, 79, 74. William Jake Truss shot a 229 (79, 75, 75), and Vance Edwards shot a 231 (77, 81, 75). Conner Steadman rounded out the scoring for UHV with a 240 (74, 82, 84).



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia