Seven Jaguars named to A.I.I. All-Conference softball teams

April 30, 2014 at 9 p.m.
Updated April 29, 2014 at 11:30 p.m.

UHV freshman Shelby Smith was named Co-Freshman of the Year on Wednesday at the AII Conference Softball Championship banquet in Lawrenceville, Ga.

The LaPorte native is one of seven Jaguars to be honored with all-conference awards at the banquet.

Smith has compiled a .486 batting average in 43 games this season. She has hit 17 doubles, four home runs, three triples and 50 RBI, according to a release.

Another freshman, Savannah Crittenden, was named a first-team all-conference pitcher.

Crittenden, also from LaPorte, has compiled an 11-2 record with a 2.00 ERA. In 18 games, she's struck out 34 batters and allowed 32 runs on 63 hits and 35 walks.

Seniors Marley Moehrig, Ashley Winegeart and junior Rachel Laird made the first team.

Moehrig, a third baseman, leads the team in triples with four, home runs with 10 and 57 RBI. She has stolen a team-high 108 bases.

Winegeart, shortstop, has a .432 batting average with 10 doubles, two triples and three home runs.

Laird has the highest batting average on the team with .574. She has 81 hits and is currently on a 40-game hitting streak.

Seniors Kristina Droz and Alex Holland both made the second team.

Holland has a .345 batting average with seven doubles, four triples, two home runs and 27 RBI.

Droz has hit nine doubles, a triple, a home run and 24 RBI.

2014 A.I.I.All-Conference Softball Team

Coach of the Year: Charlie Zeilman, Louisiana State University-Alexandria

Co-Players of the Year: Cassidy Littlefield, Georgia Gwinnett College and Brooke Thomas, LSU-Alexandria

Pitcher of the Year: Katie Wilkinson, California State University-San Marcos

Co-Freshmen of the Year: Kristina Brown, Fisher College and Shelby Smith, University of Houston-Victoria

Newcomer of the Year: Cassidy Littlefield, Georgia Gwinnett (unanimous)

First Team

Pitchers: Kayla Byrom, Georgia Gwinnett; Savannah Crittenden, University of Houston-Victoria; Logan Hebert, Louisiana State University-Alexandria; Katie Wilkinson, California States-San Marcos.

Catchers: Kristina Brown, Fisher College; Raquel Granados, LSUA; Tani Leasau, CSUSM.

Infielders: Cassidy Littlefield, GGC; Marley Moehrig, UHV; Kaylee Prather, LSUA; Shelby Smith, UHV; Kaylin Stewart, Lindenwood University-Belleville; Ashley Winegeart, UHV.

Outfielders: Halley Ingram, GGC; Rachel Laird, UHV: Kaitlin McGinley, CSUSM; Alex Miller, CSUSM; Brooke Thomas, LSUA; Julinn Torres, LSUA.

Designated Player: Jamie Navarro, Lindenwood.

Utility Player: Taylor Winn, Lindenwood.

Second Team

Pitchers: Ashley Beyke, GGC; Ashley Dagenais, CSUSM; Michele Pilster, Lindenwood; Nicole Schmidt, Ashford University.

Catchers: Kristina Droz, UHV; Shelby Hobelman, Ashford.

Infielders: Melyssa Bellamy, CSUSM; Mallory Campbell, CSUSM; Kalyn Ohlemeyer, Ashford; Morgan Selmi, Fisher; Taylor Simon, LSUA.

Outfielders: Christine Briggs, Fisher; Payton Geeting, Ashford; Nicolle Miskowicz, Lindenwood; Carlyn Shimizu, University of British Columbia,

Designated Player: Heather Bunn, LSUA; Alex Holland, UHV.

Utility Player: Alana Westerhof, UBC.



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia