Team from Yoakum, San Antonio wins 17-hour domino tournament

Jan. 27, 2014 at 7:03 p.m.
Updated Jan. 26, 2014 at 7:27 p.m.

Two previous winners came out on top again Sunday at the 61st annual Texas State Championship Straight Domino Tournament in Hallettsville.

D. Scott Henke, of San Antonio, and Jim Foster, of Yoakum, beat the field of 83 teams to win the tournament.

The tournament, which started play at 9 a.m. Sunday, ended around 2 a.m. Monday, said Joey Henke, tournament judge and a previous winner.

The tournament had six fewer teams than in 2013, a decline Henke attributed to aging of the regular players.

But Henke said a team from Lubbock who played said they planned to return next year with their 25-member club.

The winning team received a winner's plaque and $150 each.

Other winners are second place, Lyndon Livingston of Kinder, La., and Pat Henke, of Hallettsville, who received a plaque and $125 each; third, Harvey Woytek and David Buzek, both of Hallettsville, who received a plaque and $100 each; fourth, father and son team Norbert Popp, of Ganado, and Perry Popp, of Waxahachie, who received a plaque and $75 each; and fifth, Dave Ballard and Haven Keys, both of Houston, who received a plaque and $50 each.



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia