Daughters of Confederacy install officers

June 12, 2014 at 1:12 a.m.

William P. Rogers Chapter 44, United Daughters of the Confederacy, met at the Power Home with president Ann Heinrich presiding. Chaplain Marilyn Niesner conducted the memorial ceremony honoring Belva Zirjacks, Mary Frels, Alice Lapham, Susanne Vanway, Charles Spurlin and Curtis Rollins, husband of member Janis Rollins.

Kathleen Reimann presented Victoria Advocate research articles from 1914 and 1941. New member Catherine Chapman received her certificate. Tami Hurley presented the program, "The Final Fracture," concerning the Cherokee Nation during the Civil War. Planning for the annual Jefferson Davis took place.

The luncheon was held the first Friday in June with Karen Hagan, associate professor, Victoria College, speaking on Jefferson Davis. Officers installed were: Tami Hurley, president; Simone Tipton, vice-president; Marilyn Logan, second vice-president; Susan Purcell, third vice-president; Jean Shores, recording secretary; Patricia Patterson-Williams, treasurer; Ann Mozisek, assistant registrar; Kathleen Reimann, historian; Marilyn Logan, recorder military awards; Marilyn Niesner, chaplain; and Ann Heinrich, parliamentarian. Ann Heinrich, as outgoing district president, was recognized with a gift from Phyllis Mistrot, president-elect, Richmond Terry's Texas Rangers.



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia