Junior named conference Pitcher of the Year

May 1, 2014 at 12:01 a.m.

UHV junior Andre Del Bosque was named Pitcher of the Year by the Association of Independent Institutions on Thursday night at a banquet in Lynn, Mass.

The Victoria native leads the Jaguars with 11 saves and was 2-5 in 29 games, according to a release. In 60 innings, he has allowed 17 runs on 39 hits and thrown 18 walks and a team-high 73 strikeouts.

Ryan Suescun was named to the first team, and Cory Carter received an honorable mention.

Suescun has a .369 batting average with 27 RBIs, 15 stolen bases, nine doubles and three triples, according to a release.

Carter has a 1-3 record in 11 games this season. In 47 innings, he has allowed 44 runs on 57 hits, has 31 walks and has struck out 51 batters.

2014 A.I.I. All-ConferenceBaseball Team

Coach of the Year: Brad Stromdahl, Georgia Gwinnett College

Player of the Year: Davidson Peguero, Fisher College

Pitcher of the Year: Andre Del Bosque, UHV

Newcomer of the Year: Jake Fields, GGC

Co-Freshmen of the Year: D.J. Burgess, West Virginia University Tech and Tyler Davis, Ashford University

First Team

Starting Pitchers: Kirk Savoy, LSU-Alexandria; Tyler Carpenter, GGC; Kyle Montiel, California State University-San Marcos; Alex Roberts, GGC

Relief Pitchers: Andre Del Bosque, UHV

First Baseman: Sloan Strickland, GGC

Second Baseman: Terrence Buchanan, CSUSM

Shortstop: Zach Alvord, GGC

Third Baseman: Dylan Skinner, Lindenwood University-Belleville

Extra Infielder: Ryan Suescun, UHV

Catcher: Rich Montanez, CSUSM; Tyler Davis, Ashford

Outfielders: Davidson Peguero, Fisher; Phillip Bates, GGC; Jake Fields, GGC; Keagan Kratzer, LSU-A

Designated Hitter: Zach Sizemore, West Virginia University Tech

Second Team

Starting Pitchers: Joe Phelps, Lindenwood; Victor Martinez, Fisher; John Tangerlini, Fisher; Josh Semtana, West Virginia Tech

Relief Pitcher: Zeke McGranahan, GGC

First Baseman: Brandon Bentson, CSUSM

Second Baseman: Victor Lebron, Fisher

Shortstop: Tyler Bernard, CSUSM

Extra Infielder: Michael Collado, LSU-A

Catcher: DJ Burgess, WVT; Drew Fair, Lindenwood

Outfielders: Kevin Moore, Rochester College; Dylan Edmiston, LSU-A; Vince Anello, Lindenwood; Ty Abbott, GGC

Designated Hitter: Blake German, Rochester

Honorable Mention

Cory Carter, UHV



Powered By AffectDigitalMedia