Search / 100 results found

from
to

Meta employees will require a booster shot against COVID-19 before they can return to the office.

Workers at Facebook's parent company are expected to return to the California office on March 28 and will need to have the booster jab before coming back.

Employees can request to work from home permanently and also have the opportunity to work from home for an additional three to five months if they need.

Janelle Gale, Meta's Vice President of human resources, said in a statement: “We’re focused on making sure our employees continue to have choices about where they work given the current COVID-19 landscape.

“We understand that the continued uncertainty makes this a difficult time to make decisions about where to work, so we’re giving more time to choose what works best for them.”

Meta employees have been working from home since the pandemic first hit in March 2020 and plans to return to the office have been shelved a number of times as the global health crisis has raged on.

Facebook chief Mark Zuckerberg previously announced that the company would allow all of its full-time employees to work from home if their jobs can be done remotely.

Zuckerberg made the announcement last June in a memo to employees which laid out the firm's plans for a hybrid office and remote setup towards work.

He wrote at the time: “We’ve learned over the past year that good work can get done anywhere, and I’m even more optimistic that remote work at scale is possible, particularly as remote video presence and virtual reality continue to improve."

  • Updated

A federal court on Tuesday ruled the Federal Trade Commission’s antitrust lawsuit against Facebook can proceed, giving the government a major victory as it tries to break up the company for monopolistic behavior.

Google and Facebook have both been fined by French regulators over their use of cookies.

The US tech giants have been hit with fines totalling 210 million euros ($125 million), after the CNIL - the data privacy watchdog - determined that both firms were making it tough for internet users to refuse the online trackers.

Karin Kiefer, the CNIL's head of data protection and sanctions, told the BBC: "When you accept cookies, it's done in just one click.

"Rejecting cookies should be as easy as accepting them."

The issue about the use of cookies is central to the EU's data-privacy regulation policy.

In response to the ruling, Google said: "People trust us to respect their right to privacy and keep them safe.

"We understand our responsibility to protect that trust and are committing to further changes and active work with the CNIL in [the] light of this decision."

Facebook, on the other hand, confirmed that it was still reviewing the ruling and is trying to plot its best route forwards.

The tech giant said after the fine was confirmed: "Our cookie consent controls provide people with greater control over their data, including a new settings menu on Facebook and Instagram, where people can revisit and manage their decisions at any time, and we continue to develop and improve these controls."

Facebook now makes it even easier to allow users to log out remotely.

The social media app has implemented a new update which allows users to log out of their account remotely from any location, which could save you a lot of hassle if you’ve ever forgotten to log out after a session at the library or your friend’s computer.

Leaving your Facebook account logged in on a shared device can pose a serious privacy risk, with strangers potentially able to access your private photos, videos and messages, as well as contact and payment information.

But thanks to Facebook’s new update, it’s now easier than ever to log out of any location you may have left yourself logged into.

Remote log-out has actually been around for over a decade, but you might have overlooked it in the app's privacy settings, and it’s now much easier to find.

All you need to do is open Facebook in your internet browser, navigate your way to the ‘Settings & Privacy’ menu, find Settings, and click Security and Login.

You'll see a list of devices where you're logged into Facebook, as well as the location and time of the last log-in.

To log out of a location, just click the three vertical dots to the right of any session.

The feature also works if you don’t recognise a session, which could mean your account has been compromised.

In this instance, simply click the “Not You?” option, which will prompt Facebook to guide you through steps to secure your account.